Politique de confidentialité

Ces données sont enregistrées par ordinateur et sont exclusivement destinées à être utilisées par cette entité.

Slefty
Articles

À l'aube des données : Les superordinateurs et la transformation de l'ingénierie

30-01-2020

Big Data, Traitement Quantique et Ingénierie. Comment peuvent-ils fonctionner ensemble ? Venez le découvrir. 

 

 

La loi de Moore stipule que la puissance de traitement doublera tous les 18 mois à 2 ans. Bien que cette information date de quelques dizaines d'années, c'est encore vrai aujourd'hui et cela se révèle assez proche de notre réalité des années passées. 

 

La technologie ne cesse de se développer, et sa puissance de traitement suit. Mais les fondamentaux sont les mêmes puisque nous connaissons les ordinateurs tels qu'ils sont aujourd'hui.  Seuls quelques développement très récents nous font penser à un nouveau paradigme de traitement fondamental et à de nouvelles capacités non prévues il y a quelques années.  

Nous vivons l'aube de l'ère des données. 

Tout le monde parle d'analyse de données, de collecte de données et de big data. Elles aident les personnes, les entreprises et la société en général à trouver des solutions plus nombreuses et plus efficaces à bons nombre de nos problèmes les plus complexes. 

 

Pourtant, cela est aussi vrai que le fait que, bientôt, la puissance de traitement ne pourra plus faire face à la quantité écrasante de données et aux énormes quantités de calculs qu'elle exige. Cela va devenir une contrainte, semblant passer outre les prédictions de la loi de Moore. 

 

Les ordinateurs quantiques, qui utilisent la superposition quantique de particules pour décrire ce que les zéros et les uns des codes binaires expliquent maintenant, surmontent davantage d'obstacles et franchissent de nouvelles étapes. 

 

L'un des ordinateurs quantiques de Google aurait résolu un calcul qui prendrait plus de 10 000 ans avec le superordinateur traditionel le plus rapide en un temps record de - devinez ? - 3 minutes et 20 secondes.  

 

Avec des développements de ce type, il est facile de voir qu'un taux de croissance, peut-être plus lent en termes de puissance de traitement récemment, sera contredit par une augmentation verticale. 

 

 

Conscients de la puissance de cette nouvelle capacité de calcul et de ses calculs puissants par seconde, nous nous interrogeons immédiatement sur ses utilisations et ses objectifs. 

 

La cryptographie, l'actuel système de sécurité, pourrait être la première préoccupation. Mais d'autres, comme le traitement des données et l'apprentissage automatique, sont également des applications intelligentes pour ces développements. Les sciences, telles que la chimie, la médecine, la pharmacie et l'astronomie, auront également gagné un grand outil. Qu'en est-il de l'ingénierie ?   

 

Le plus grand allié des supercalculateurs ? Les données. La collecte de données est la première étape vers l'exploration du potentiel infini de ces machines. Toutes les conceptions des ingénieurs doivent rester interconnectées et transmettre des données sur son utilisation et son fonctionnement. L'objectif est le stockage et l'analyse. Mais il y a des questions comme : pourquoi devons-nous extraire ces données et quelle est la valeur de leur analyse ? 

 

Pour le travail d'ingénierie, il y a un risque de réplication à de nombreux usages et utilisateurs mais, en même temps, il y a un travail personnalisé qui doit être fait pour chaque client. Prenez note. Une grande partie de l'ingénierie consiste à relier les désirs et les besoins aux techniques fondamentales. Mais si tous les besoins sont enregistrés et liés à la réalité, un ordinateur peut facilement réaliser cette connexion. 

 

Pourquoi alors les ingénieurs travaillent-ils sur des choses déjà analysées par leur pairs et d'énormes quantités sont stockées à ce sujet? Le pont que les supercalculateurs peuvent établir entre les désirs du client et les exigences techniques peut aller à l'encontre de l'objectif de l'ingénieur dans le cadre du processus.

 

Un superordinateur peut analyser des centaines, des milliers ou des millions de schémas logistiques dans l'ordre, filtrés en fonction des exigences du client, et construire la solution la plus efficace et la plus fonctionnelle. Pour ce faire, elle aura besoin de sa matière première, à savoir la collecte de données, qui sera l'objectif principal des prochaines années.

 

 

Les caméras et les satellites recueillent déjà des informations sur les compétences en macro-ingénierie comme le développement urbain, le trafic, les voies de communication et les infrastructures. Cette information, associée à des superordinateurs, ouvrira une nouvelle ère pour l'optimisation de l'ingénierie, avec un impact positif, potentiellement milliardaire, dans l'économie, ainsi qu'une énorme amélioration de notre travail envers la société. 

 

Il en va de même pour les plus petits, au niveau micro, comme les chaînes d'approvisionnement ou la sécurité incendie par exemple. Si toutes les données relatives à tous les incendies de bâtiments étaient recueillies et analysées par des superordinateurs, il est certain qu'ils seraient également en mesure d'indiquer quelle est la meilleure conception de la sécurité incendie compte tenu des données et des exigences du clients. 

 

Les superordinateurs alliés à la nouvelle technologie quantique, qui en est à ses premiers pas, vont certainement stimuler la façon dont le travail des ingénieurs a un impact positif sur la société et l'économie.  

Encore un long chemin à parcourir. Le travail personnalisé connaîtra de nombreuses améliorations en matière d'optimisation, mais de nombreuses données seront nécessaires à cette fin. Les superordinateurs sont loin d'être commercialisés et la quantité de données existantes aujourd'hui n'est pas encore suffisante pour être utilisée comme une matière première efficace. 

 

Au cours des prochaines années, nous assisterons à de nouveaux développements, mais ce n'est pas encore dans un avenir proche que nous utiliserons régulièrement cette technologie dans l'ingénierie. 

 

Seriez-vous prêt pour le changement ? Dites-le nous dans les commentaires !

Avez-vous aimé cet article? 1
Partager cet article

Privacy policy

Who we are
The main website address is: http://www.slefty.com
What data we collect and why we collect it
comments
When visitors leave comments on the site, we collect the data shown in the comments form and also the visitor's IP address and browser user agent string to help detect spam.
 
Average
If you upload images to the site, avoid uploading images with embedded location data (GPS EXIF) included. Site visitors can download and extract any location data from images on the site.
Contact Forms
Cookies
If you leave a comment on our site, you may choose to save your name, email address and website in cookies. These are for your convenience, so you don't have to fill in your details again when leaving another comment. These cookies will last a year.
If you have an account and log in to this site, we will set a temporary cookie to determine if your browser accepts cookies. This cookie contains no personal data and is discarded when you close your browser.
When you sign in, we will also set various cookies to save your login information and your on-screen display options. Login cookies last two days and screen options cookies last one year. If you select “Remember Me,” your login will persist for two weeks. If you sign out of your account, login cookies will be removed.
If you edit or publish an article, an additional cookie will be saved in your browser. This cookie does not include personal data and simply indicates the post ID you just edited. Expires after 1 day.
Content from other websites
Articles on this site may include embedded content (e.g., videos, images, articles, etc.). Embedded content from other sites behaves the same as if the visitor had visited the other site.
These sites may collect data about you, use cookies, incorporate additional third-party tracking, and monitor your interaction with embedded content, including tracking your interaction with embedded content, if you have an account and are connected to the site.
How long we keep your data
If you leave a comment, the comment and its metadata will be retained indefinitely. This is so that we can automatically recognize and approve any follow-up comments, rather than keeping them in a moderation queue.
For users who register on our site, we also store the personal information they provide in their user profile. All users can view, edit or delete their personal information at any time (except they cannot change their username). Site administrators can also view and edit this information.
What rights do we have over your data
If you have an account on this site or have left comments, you may request to receive an exported file of the personal data we hold about you, including any data you have provided to us. You may also request that you delete any personal data we have about you. This does not include any data that we are required to keep for administrative, legal or security purposes.

Slefty
Articles

Dawn of Data: Supercomputers and the Engineering Transformation

30-01-2020

Big Data, Quantum Processing and Engineering. How can these work together? Find out.

 

 

Moore’s law said that processing power will double every 18 months to 2 years. Although this claim is some dozens years old, it's still true today and it's proving itself fairly close to our reality of past years.

 

Technology keeps on growing, and its processing power follows along. But the fundamentals are the same since we know computers as they are now. Only some very recent developments make us think about a new processing fundamentals paradigm and new abilites not foreseen some years back. 

 

We are living the dawn of the Data era.

Everyone's talking about data analysis, data collection and big data. These are helping people, companies and general society achieve greater and better solutions to many of our most complex issues.

 

 

Yet, this is as true as the fact that, soon, processing power will not be able to keep up with the overwhelming amount of data and the huge amounts of calculations required by it. It'll become a constraint, seemingly overruling Moore's law predicitions.

 

Quantum computers, which use quantum superposition of particles to describe what binary codes' zeros and ones now explain, are surpassing more obstacles and achieving new milestones.

 

One of Google’s quantum computer reportedly solves a calculation that would take more than 10000 years in the fastest traditional supercomputer to solve in a record time of - take a guess? - 3 minutes and 20 seconds.

 

With developments of this kind, it’s easy to see that a maybe slower growth rate in processing power for the recent past will be contradicted with a vertical rise.

 

Aware of the might of this new computational capacity and its powerful per second calculations, we immediately wonder about its uses and purposes.

 

Cryptography, the  current internet support security system, may be the first concern. But others like data processing and machine learning are also smart applications for these developments. Sciences,such as chemistry, medicine,  pharma  and astronomy, will also have gained a great tool. How about engineering?

 

The greatest ally to supercomputers? Data. Data collection is the first step towards exploring the endless potential of these machines. All designs by engineers need to stay interconnected and transmit data about its use and functioning. Storage and analysis is the goal. But there are questions like, why do we need to extrat this data and what's the value in its analysis?

 

For the engineering work there's a rysk of replication to a lot of uses and users but, at the same time, there's a personalized work that needs to be done for each client. Take notice. A big part of engineering is connecting desires and needs with technical fundamentals. But if all needs are recorded and related to reality, a computer can easily perfom that connection.

 

Why then are engineers working on things already analyzed by their peers and huge amounts of data being stored about it? The bridge that supercomputers can ply between the client's desires and the technical requirements can defeat the engineer's purpose as part of the process.

 

A supercomputer can analyze hundreds, thousands or millions of logistic layouts in order, filtered with the client requirements, and build the most efficient and functional solution. To make this possible, it will need its raw material and that is data gathering, the main focus for the next years.

 

 

Cameras and satellites already collect information about macro engineering skills like urban development, traffic, communication pathways and infrastructures. This info partnered with supercomputers will breakout a new era for engineering optimization, with a potencially billionaire positive impact in the economy, along with a huge improvement of our work towards society.

 

Same goes for smaller, micro level like supply chains or fire security, for example. If all the data about all fires on buildings was gathered and analyzed by supercomputers, for sure they'd also be able to state what's the best fire safety design considering the data and client's demands. 

 

Supercomputers allied with the new quantum tech, now showing its first steps, will definitely boost the way engineering work positively impact society and economy.

 

Still a long way to go. Personalized work will see many optimization improvements but a lot of data will be required for that. Supercomputers are far from commercialization and the amount of existing data today is not yet enough to be used as an efficient raw material.

 

In the next upcoming years, we will see more developments, but it will still not be in a near future that we'll use this tech in enginerring on a regular basis. 

 

Would you be ready for the change? Tell us in the comments!

Did you like this article? 1
Share this article